Indian Currency

Understanding Notes

- The money we use in India is called Indian currency.
- The basic unit of Indian currency is the rupee (₹).
- 100 paise = 1 rupee
- Indian currency includes both coins and notes.
- Common coins are 50 paise, ₹1, ₹2, ₹5, and ₹10.
- Common notes are ₹10, ₹20, ₹50, ₹100, ₹200, ₹500, and ₹2000.
- The symbol for rupee is ₹ and for paise is p.
- We write ₹5.50 for 5 rupees and 50 paise.
- Indian currency is issued by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI).

Example: (Easy – Identify coins)

- Ravi has coins of ₹1, ₹2, and ₹5
- He adds them: ₹1 + ₹2 + ₹5 = ₹8

Answer = Total money is ₹8

Example: (Easy – Identify notes)

- Meena has notes of ₹10 and ₹50
- ₹10 + ₹50 = ₹60

Answer = Meena has ₹60

Example: (Moderate – Convert paise to rupees)

- Convert 150 paise to rupees
- 100 paise = ₹1
- 150 paise = ₹1 and 50 paise

Answer = ₹1.50

Example: (Moderate – Combine notes and coins)

- A toy costs ₹20. A boy gives one ₹10 note, one ₹5 coin, and five ₹1 coins
- ₹10 + ₹5 + ₹5 = ₹20



Answer = He gave the correct amount

Example: (Moderate – Word problem using money)

- A pencil costs ₹6 and an eraser costs ₹3
- How much money is needed to buy both?
- ₹6 + ₹3 = ₹9

Answer = ₹9 is needed

Summary Points

- Indian currency has rupees and paise
- 100 paise = 1 rupee
- We use ₹ to show rupees and p for paise
- Money can be in the form of coins or notes
- Learning Indian currency helps in shopping and saving money smartly