Bahmani Kingdom C1347-1525 CE

- Bahmani Kingdom was a Muslim state of the Deccan in Southern India during the medieval era in Indian History.
- The nobles of Bahmani kingdom were categorized in two categories: Afaquis and Deccanis. Deccanis were nobles of native origin while Afaquis had foreign origin.
- It was founded by AlauddinHasanBahman Shah (in 1347), also known as HasanGangu, revolting against the Delhi Sultanate of Muhammad bin Tughlaq.
- > Gulbarga and in later time Bidar were capital of it.
- > Bahamani kingdom acted as a cultural link between the South & the North.
- > The Kingdom stretched from north to south from the Wainganga river to Krishna and east to west from Bhongir to Daulatabad.
- > There was total 14 Bahaman Sultans.
- The Bahmani Empire was always at war with Vijayanagara Empire for control over Deccan. Firoz shah invaded Vijaynagar and defeated Krishna Deva Raya I.
- > Ahmad Shah Wali later shifted Capital from Gulbarga to Bidar.
- Muhammad Shah III became the sultan at the age of 9 after death of his brother Nizam Shah and Mahmud Gawan served as Prime Minister.
- Bahmani Empire reached its zenith during the time of Mahmud Gawan who was a minister of the Empire.
- > Kalimullah was the last king of the Bahmani dynasty.

	 He was Iranian by birth and was a trader. He was granted title of Malik-ul- Tujjar (Chiefs of Merchants) by Humayun Shah.
	 For almost 20 years he dominated the state affairs of the Bahamani. Under his leadership Bahamani kingdom saw resurgence.
Mahmud Gawan:	He divided the kingdom into eight provinces called Tarafs. Each Taraf was governed by the Tarafdar. The salary was paid in cash or assigning a Jagir.
	A tract of land called Khalisa was set apart for expenses of the Sultan.
	Introduced use of Gunpowder in war against Vijaynagar Kings.

- + He built a college at Bidar in Persian Style architecture.
- **4** Executed in 1481 by Muhammad Shah, Deccan nobles plotted against him.

After Gawan's Execution, Bahmani kingdom disintegrated into Five Kingdoms:

\triangleright	Bahma	ani kingdom disintegration
	4	NizamShahis of Ahmadnagar
	4	AdilShahis of Bijapur
	4	QutubShahis of Golconda
	4	ImadShahis of Berar
	4	BaridShahis of Bidar

NizamShahis of Ahmednagar (1490-1633 AD):	 Founder – Ahmad Nizam Shah. It was conquered & annexed by Shah Jahan in 1633.
AdilShahis of Bijapur (1490-1686 AD)	 Founder – Yusuf Adil Shah. Famous GolGumbaz was built by Muhammad Adil Shah. Bijapur was conquered & annexed by Aurangzeb in 1687.
QutubShahis of Golconda (1518- 1687 AD):	 Founder – Muhammad QuliQutub shah. He built famous Golconda fort and made it capital. Muhammad QuliQutub Shah founded the city Hyderabad (originally known as Bhagyanagar) and also built Charminar. It was annexed by Aurangzeb in 1687.
ImadShahis of Berar (1490- 1574 AD)	 Founder – Fatullah khan ImadulMulk. Capital – Daulatabad Annexed by rulers of Ahmednagar.

BaridShahis of Bidar (1528- 1619 AD) :

Founder – Ali BaridAnnexed by Bijapur rulers.

ART & ARCHITECTURE:

- > The architecture was highly influenced by Persian architecture. They invited architects from Persia, Turkey and Arabia.
- > The Gulbarga fort &Jama Masjid in Gulbarga, BidarFortand Madrasa by Mahmud Gawan in Bidar, are the major architectural contributions.
- GolGhumaz was built by Muhammad Adil Shah; it is famous for so called "Whispering Gallery"
- > IbrahumAdil Shah introduced 'Dakhini' in place of Persian as court language.