# **Constituent Assembly**

## **The Constituent Assembly**

The Constituent Assembly was the body of elected representatives of the people of India.

Elections for the Constituent Assembly were held in July 1946 and its first meeting was convened in December 1946.

On Partition, the Constituent Assembly was also divided into two parts called as the Constituent Assembly of India and the Constituent Assembly of Pakistan.

The Constituent Assembly of India that drafted the Indian Constitution had 299 members.

The Constituent Assembly of India had adopted the Constitution on 26 November 1949, but it came into effect on 26 January 1950.

## Salient features of the Indian Constitution -

1) Written constitution -

2) The lengthiest constitution in the world -

3) Parliamentary form of Government -

4) Partly rigid and Partly flexible -

5) Fundamental rights -

6) Directive principle of State Policy.

7) A federation with strong centralising Tendency

8) Adult suffrage -

9) An Independence Judiciary -

10) A Secular state -

11) Single citizenship

12) Fundamental duties -

#### **Major Committees**

- Union Power Committee Jawaharlal Nehru
- Union Constitution Committee Jawaharlal Nehru
- Provincial Constitution Committee Sardar Patel
- Drafting Committee Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
- Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights, Minorities and Tribal and Excluded Areas Sardar Patel.

#### **Minor Committees**

- Committee on the Functions of the Constituent Assembly G.V. Mavalankar
- Order of Business Committee Dr. K.M. Munshi
- House Committee B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya
- Ad-hoc Committee on the National Flag Dr. Rajendra Prasad
- Special Committee to Examine the Draft Constitution Jawaharlal Nehru
- Credentials Committee Alladi Krishnaswamy Ayyar
- Finance and Staff Committee Dr. Rajendra Prasad.
- Press Gallery Committee Usha Nath Sen
- Committee to Examine the Effect of Indian Independence Act of 1947
- Committee on Chief Commissioners' Provinces B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya.
- Commission on Linguistic Provinces S.K. Dar
- Expert Committee on Financial Provisions Nalini Ranjan Sarkar
- Ad-hoc Committee on the Supreme Court S. Varadachari.
- Ad-hoc Committee on citizenship S Varadachari

### **Drafting Committee**

- The Drafting Commission was established by the Constitutional Council on August 29, 1947, chaired by Dr. B. Ambedkar, to prepare the drafting of the constitution.
- It has seven members. The drafting committee is the most important body, as it is entrusted with the final task of drafting a new constitution based on reports submitted by other committees.
- The first draft was published in February 1948 and the citizens of India had eight months to discuss the draft and propose amendments.
- In response to comments and suggestions from the public, the committee prepared a second draft, which was published in October of the same year.
- The committee reviewed and revised the reports several times until a satisfactory draft was received