Basic of Constitution - Legislature

Introduction of legislature

1. Unicameral Legislature:

Unicameral legislature refers to the practice of having only one parliamentary or legislative chamber to perform legislative activities or functions like passing a budget, enacting laws, oversee the administration, discussing matters of national or international importance. Most of the countries in the world have a unicameral legislature, e.g. Norway, Sweden, New Zealand, Iran, Hungary, China, Sri Lanka etc.

Out of 28 Indian States, there are 24 states which have a unicameral structure. The lists of these states are given below:

- 1. Arunachal Pradesh
- 2. Assam
- 3. Chhattisgarh
- 4. Delhi
- 5. Goa
- 6. Gujarat
- 7. Haryana
- 8. Himachal Pradesh
- 9. Jharkhand
- 10. Kerala
- 11. Madhya Pradesh
- 12. Manipur
- 13. Meghalaya
- 14. Mizoram
- 15. Nagaland
- 16. Odisha
- 17. Puducherry
- 18. Punjab
- 19. Rajasthan
- 20. Sikkim
- 21. Tamil Nadu
- 22. Tripura
- 23. Uttarakhand
- 24. West Bengal

2. Bicameral Legislature:

The bicameral legislature refers to the lawmaking body of a country that has two separate houses, assemblies or chambers to perform legislative functions like enacting laws, passing the budget, etc. Its main objective is to represent people from all the sectors or societies of the country. Some of the countries where the bicameral legislature is adopted include India, Canada, Japan, Spain, Italy, and the United Kingdom etc.

India is one such example where there are two houses both at union and also at 6 of its 28 states. In a bicameral legislature, the functions to administer and implement the laws are shared between the two houses.

At the central level, the Indian Parliament has two houses:

- 1. Lok Sabha (Lower House)
- 2. Rajya Sabha (Upper House)

At the state level, six of the 28 state legislatures have two houses:

- 1. Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha)
- 2. Legislative Council (Vidhan Parishad)

The names of the six states having bicameral legislature are:

- 1. Andhra Pradesh
- 2. Bihar
- 3. Karnataka
- 4. Maharashtra
- 5. Telangana
- 6. Uttar Pradesh

Unwritten and Written Constitution

Unwritten Constitution	Written Constitution		
Unwritten constitution refers to the unstructured version of the constitution	Written Constitution refers to the codified, compiled and cohesive constitution, which can be stored for future reference		
The terms of an Unwritten Constitution evolve over a long period with a new set of laws and guidelines added as time passes on.	Written constitutions like the Indian Constitution are framed by analysis and discussion on any possible issue and compiled in a step by step matter with subsequent changes made instantaneously or with time		
These type of Constitutions can be rigid or flexible or both	Such constitutions are flexible that means the changes can be made in them with time		
The Parliament is supreme power in a country with an unwritten constitution	The Constitution is supreme where there is written constitution		
The judiciary is limited in its powers and the Parliament can only challenge things when there is an Unwritten Constitution	The Judiciary is more powerful and can have the power of judicial review so as to ensure constitutional supremacy		
The Magna Carta can be considered the earliest form of the unwritten constitution.	The Constitution of the United States of America is considered as the oldest written constitution that is still in force.		
Such Constitutions work better in a Monarchy or Autocracy	Such Constitutions work best in a Democracy		