# **ELECTION COMMISSION**

- 1. Which Article in the Indian Constitution provides for the Election Commission?
  - a. Article 324
  - b. Article 128
  - c. Article 256
  - d. Article 378
- 2. Who appoints the Chief Election Commissioner of Election Commission?
  - a. Prime Minister
  - b. Chief Justice of India
  - c. President
  - d. Lok Sabha
- 3. Currently, there are how many members in the Election Commission?
  - a. 1
  - b. 2
  - c. 3
  - d. 4
- 4. When was the Election Commission formed?
  - a. 1947
  - b. 1948
  - c. 1949
  - d. 1950
- 5. What is the tenure of office for the Chief Election Commissioner?
  - a. 5 years or 65 years, whichever is earlier
  - b. 6 years or 60 years, whichever is earlier
  - c. 6 years or 65 years, whichever is earlier
  - d. 5 years or 60 years, whichever is earlier
- 6. Where are the headquarters of the Election Commission of India situated?
  - a. Mumbai
  - b. New Delhi
  - c. Bangalore
  - d. Gurgaon
- 7. Who was the first woman to become a Chief Election Commissioner of India?
  - a. V. S. Ramadevi
  - b. G. D. Das
  - c. S.K. Bedi

- d. R.M. Nikam
- 8. For the Election Commission, at the district level, who acts as the district returning officer?
  - a. District Collector
  - b. Police Commissioner
  - c. Tehsildars
  - d. None of the above
- 9. Which of the following is a constitutional body?
  - a. Election Commission
  - b. Finance Commission
  - c. National Commission for Scheduled Castes
  - d. All of the above
- 10. How many Election Commissioners are in the Election Commission?
  - a. 3
  - b. 4
  - c. 5
  - d. 6
- 11. Who appoints the Chief Election Commissioner?
  - a. Parliament
  - b. President of India
  - c. Prime Minister
  - d. Law Minister

12. Which of the following is not the work of Election Commission?

- a. To conduct the election of Lok Sabha, Legislative Assembly, President and Vice President
- b. Approval of setting up of political parties
- c. Deciding the disqualification of a Member of Parliament by using his discretion power
- d. Advising the governor on matters related to the disqualification of members of the Legislative Council
- 13. What kind of procedure should be followed to remove the Chief Election Commissioner?
  - a. As it is followed to remove the Chief Justice of High Court
  - b. As it is followed to remove the Judge of the Supreme Court
  - c. By passing a resolution in the Lok Sabha only
  - d. None of the above
- 14. The State Election Commissioner can be removed on the basis of whose recommendation.
  - a. Law Minister
  - b. Chief Election Commissioner
  - c. Governor

### d. Chief Justice of the High Court

- 15. Whose election is not held under the supervision of the Chief Election Commissioner?
  - a. Legislative Assembly
  - b. Vice President
  - c. Gram Panchayat
  - d. President
- 16. Which of the following does not come under the purview of the Election Commission?
  - a. To conduct the election of PM of India.
  - b. To conduct the election of President of India.
  - c. To give recognition to Political Parties
  - d. To assign election symbols to the Political Parties.
- 17. Who is the Chairman of Planning Commission?
  - a. President
  - b. Prime Minister
  - c. Finance Minister
  - d. Vice-President
- 18. Who acts as the Chairman of the State Planning Board?
  - a. Governor
  - b. Chief Minister
  - c. Leader of the Opposition
  - d. Speaker
- 19. Who is the Chairman of Planning Commission?
  - a. President
  - b. Prime Minister
  - c. Finance Minister
  - d. Vice-President
- 20. Finance Commission is appointed by the President of India after every
  - a. 5 years
  - b. 6 years
  - c. 4 years
  - d. None of these
- 21. Who appoints the Chief Election Commissioner of India?
  - a. Chief Justice of India
  - b. President
  - c. Parliament

#### d. Prime Minister

- 22. The Members and Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission are appointed by the:
  - a. President of India
  - b. Chief Justice of India
  - c. Parliament of India
  - d. Prime Minister of India
- 23. The Finance Commission in India is appointed by
  - a. Prime Minister of India
  - b. President of India
  - c. Chairman of Rajya Sabha
  - d. Speaker of Lok Sabha
- 24. An electoral system under which a legislature reflects the strength of the various political parties is called
  - a. Proportional representation
  - b. Direct election style
  - c. Gallup Poll
  - d. Gerrymandering

## 25. Who of the following enjoy constitutional position?

- (A) Finance Commission
- (B) National Development Council
- (C) Election Commission
- (D) Planning Commission
- a. A, C
- b. A, B
- c. B, D
- d. B, C

26. In which year, first general elections to Lok Sabha were held in India?

- a. 1948
- b. 1949
- c. 1950
- d. 1951
- 27. Who was the first Chief election commissioner of India?
  - a. KVK Sundaram
  - b. SP Sen Verma
  - c. Sukumar Sen
  - d. Rajmannar

- 28. Which of the following committee made a recommendation that election commission should be a three member body?
  - a. Tarkunde Committee
  - b. Ashok Mehta Committee
  - c. Jeevan Reddy Committee
  - d. JP Committee

29. Who among the following is the first woman in India to head an State election commission?

- a. Neela satyanarayan
- b. Sudha Pillai
- c. Rita Sinha
- d. Leena Mehendale
- 30. In which year, two additional Commissioners were appointed for the first time in Election Commission of India?
  - a. 1980
  - b. 1985
  - c. 1989
  - d. 1991

## **Answers**

1. (a)	2. (c)	3. (c)	4. (d)	5. (c)	6. (b)	7. (a)	8. (a)
9. (d)	10. (a)	11. (b)	12. (b)	13. (c)	14. (b)	15.(c)	16.(a)
17. (b)	18. (b)	19. (b)	20. (a)	21. (b)	22. (a)	23. (b)	24. (a)
25. (a)	26. (d)	27. (c)	28. (a)	29.(a)	30.(c)		