Indian national congress

1. The first Muslim President of the Indian National Congress was

- A. AbulKalam Azad
- B. Rafi Ahmed Kidwai
- C. BadruddinTyabji
- D. Hakim Ajmal Khan

2. For the first time, PurnaSwaraj was declared by the Congress at

- A. Lahore
- B. Amritsar
- C. Lucknow
- D. Tripura

3. Who among the following presided over the historic Lahore session of INC?

- A. Jawaharlal Nehru
- B. Motilal Nehru
- C. Gandhiji
- D. Mohammed Ali Jinnah

4. In which session of the Indian National Congress was the national song

'VandeMataram' sung for the first time?

- A. Kolkata, 1896
- B. Mumbai, 1889
- C. Lahore, 1909
- D. Varanasi, 1905

5. In which year was the Indian National Congress founded?

- A. 1880
- B. 1884
- C. 1885
- D. 1890

6. Whom did Sarojini Naidu succeed as President of the Indian National Congress?

- A. Vallabhbhai Patel
- B. Bhagat Singh
- C. Mahatma Gandhi

D. Lord Mountbatten

7. Who was the first president of Indian National Congress?

- A. A.O. Hume
- B. W.C. Banerjee
- C. Sundernath Banerjee
- D. BadruddinTyabji

8. Which Congress session formalized the demand for 'PurnaSwaraj' or 'Full

Independence" for India?

- A. Calcutta session, 1917
- B. Delhi session, 1923
- C. Lahore session, 1929
- D. Lahore session, 1909

9. Among the following delegates at the Congress session at Karachi (1931) who did not oppose the Gandhi-Irwin Pact?

- A. Jamna Das Mehta
- B. Swami Govindanad
- C. Yusuf Meherali
- D. PurshotamdasThakurdas

10. Who was the first Indian woman President of the Indian National Congress?

- A. Mrs. Annie Besant
- B. SchetaKripalani
- C. Sarojini Naidu
- D. Indira Gandhi

11. Where was the first session of the Indian National Congress held in December 1885?

- A. Calcutta
- B. Bombay
- C. Lahore
- D. Madras

12. Who was the First Non-Indian Woman President of the Indian National Congress?

A. Sarojini Naidu

- B. Bikaji Kama
- C. Kamla Nehru
- D. Annie Besant

13. Where did Madam Cama hoist the first tricolor flag in 1907?

- A. London
- B. Paris
- C. Moscow
- D. Stuttgart

14. Who was the first woman President of the Indian National Congress?

- A. Annie Besant
- B. VijayalaxmiPandit
- C. Sarojini Naidu
- D. ArunaAsaf Ali

15. Which of the following options shows the venue and year of first session of Indian

National Congress?

- A. Bombay, 1883
- B. Calcutta, 1993
- C. Bombay, 1885
- D. Calcutta, 1885

16. In which session of the Indian National Congress split into two part-Moderates and Extremists?

A. Surat Session

- B. Nagpur Session
- C. Bombay Session
- D. Allahabad Session

Answers Key

1(C) 2(A) 3(A) 4(A) 5(C) 6(C) 7(B) 8(C) 9(D) 10(C)

11(B) 12(D) 13(D) 14(A) 15(C)