# 18. GEOGRAPHY OF INDIA

### **Important Facts**

- India became independence state on 15 August 1947.
- India became republic country on 26 January 1950.
- India has 28 State and 7 Union Territories.
- The geographical area of India is 32,87,263 Km<sup>2</sup>
- The length of the india's manland from east to west is 2,933 Km.
- The length of the India's mainland from north to south is 3,214 Km.
- Delhi is the capital of india.
- Delhi become capital of india on 23 Dec 1912.
- India is situated between 8°4' to 37°6' North latitudes.
- India situated between 68°7' to 97°25' East longitudes.
- 82 <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> East longitude passes almost through the mid of India.
- It is the Standard Meridian of India.
- This line pass through from Nani of Allahabad.
- The Standard Time of India is 5 hours 30 minutes ahead of that at the Greenwich.
- The tropic of Cancer divides India into almost two equal parts.
- The eight states through which the tropic of cancer passes are—
  - 1. Gujarat 2. Rajasthan 3. Madhya Pradesh
  - 4. Chhattisgarth 5. Jharkhand 6. W.Bengal
  - 7. Tripura 8. Mizoram
- The geographical area of India is about 2.4% of the total geographical area of the world.
- On the basis of the geographical area, India rank on 7th position. after—
  - 1. Russia
- 4. U.S.A.
- 2. Canada
- 5. Brazil
- 3. China
- 6. Australia
- The land frontiers of India are 15,200 km.
- The length of the coastline of the mainland is 6,100 Km.
- The total coastline, including the coastlines of the islands, is 7516.6 Km.

- In this way, the total length of the Indian frontiers is 22,716.6 Km(15,200+7516.6).
- Indira Point is the southern most point of India.
- Indira Point is located in the Great Nicobar Island.
- The coastline of Gujarat is longest due to the presence of innumerable creeks

#### Channels-

- 1. 8° Channel is in between Maldives and Minicoy.
- 2. 9° Channel is in between Lakshadweep and Minioy.
- 3. 10° Channel is in between Andaman and Nicobar islands.
- 4. Great Channel isin between indira point and Indonesia.

#### Territorial sea of india-

- The Maritime Belt or Territorial sea of India extends upto the distance of 12 Nautical Miles.
- 1 Nautical Mile = 1.8 km from the base line.
- The Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of India extended further 200 nautical miles from the attached region.
- Now Exclusive Economic zone of india extended 350 Notical mile from 2011.
- In Exclusive Economic zone India has exclusive rights of carrying out scientific researches, construction of new islands and exploitation of the natural resources found in this zone.
- After that, there is extension of the High Sea where all the nations have equal rights.

## **India and Neighbouring Countries**

- There are 28 States and 7 Union Territories in India.
- The immediate neighbours of India are-
  - 1. Pakistan
  - 2. Afghanistan
  - 3. Nepal
  - 4. Bhutan
  - 5. China
  - 6. Bangladesh
  - 7. Myanmar



### 1. Pakistan and Indian States

- 1. Jammu & Kashmir
- 2. Punjab
- 3. Rajasthan
- 4. Gujarat

## 2. Afghanistan and Indian States

- Jammu and Kashmir (In Pak Occupide Kashmir)
- The only state of India touching the border with Afghanistan is Jammu and Kashmir.

## 3. Nepal and Indian States

- 1. Uttarakhand
- 2. Uttar pradesh
- 3. Bihar
- 4. West Bengal
- 5. Sikkim

#### 4. Bhutan and Indian States

- 1. Sikkim
- 2. West Bengal
- 3. Assam

4. Arunachal pradesh

#### 5. China and Indian States

- 1. Jammu Kashmir
- 2. Himachal pradesh
- 3. Uttarakhand
- 4. Sikkim
- 5. Arunachal pradesh

### 6. Bangadesh and Indian States

- 1. West Bengal
- 2. Assam
- 3. Tripura
- 4. Mizoram
- 5. Meghalaya

## 7. Myanmar and Indian States

- 1. Arunachal pradesh
- 2. Nagaland
- 3. Manipur
- 4. Mizoram

